Iconic Tourism Sites

MoT To Develop 17 Iconic Tourism Sites

Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development under Iconic Tourist Sites Development Project, pursuant to Budget Announcements of 2018-19. Following are the 17 sites: Uttar Pradesh- TajMahal & Fatehpur SikriMaharashtra- Ajanta & ElloraDelhi- Humayun’s TombRed Fort & Qutub MinarGoa- Colva beachRajasthan- Amer FortGujarat- Somnath & DholaviraMadhya Pradesh– KhajurahoKarnataka– HampiTamilNadu– MahabalipuramAssam– KazirangaKerala– KumarakomBihar– Mahabodhi.

“The Ministry shall be developing the above sites in a holistic manner with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion & branding and by bringing in private investment,” Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism K. J. Alphons, informed in a written reply in Rajya Sabha on 24 July 2018.

The monuments were taken up for development under the above-mentioned project fall under the jurisdiction of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) and State Archaeology Departments. The Ministry will carry out interventions at these monuments in collaboration with the ASI and State Government, and all development plans will have elements of universal accessibility, cleanliness at the monuments, use of Green Technology and enhanced security for the tourists.

Also Read, How to choose the best B2B Travel Portal or Vendor.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter